Buying Guide
The best foam crib mattresses should be assessed by construction and fit first. Public listings often combine several foam layers, different firmness surfaces, removable covers, and material certifications, but those features do not mean every mattress has the same design. Use the specifications below to narrow the field, then verify the mattress dimensions against the crib manufacturer’s instructions.
Confirm the crib size
Most products in this comparison are intended for a standard full-size crib or toddler bed. Common listed footprints include 52 by 28 inches, 52 by 27.5 inches, and 52 by 27.6 inches. Those small differences matter when checking for a snug fit. The Moonlight Slumber Little Dreamer lists dimensions of about 51.97 by 27.56 inches, while the Graco Ultra lists 52 by 28 inches. ASANEST, Babelio, Beautyrest, Grbsy, and Modera list similar standard-crib footprints.
Do not assume a standard label guarantees compatibility with every crib. Compare length, width, and height with the crib documentation. The selected products range from about 4.5 to 6 inches in listed height. Grbsy is listed at 6 inches, and the Graco Ultra is described as up to 6 inches. A thicker mattress may need more careful verification than a lower-profile design.
Compare foam support and firmness
Foam support design is the largest scoring category because it describes the mattress itself rather than an accessory. Several selected models use two surfaces: a firmer, flat infant side and a softer or more adaptive toddler side. This includes the Little Dreamer, Graco Ultra, both ASANEST mattresses, Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit, Beautyrest Silver Slumber Nights, Babelio, Grbsy, and Modera.
Some listings identify the materials more specifically. The ASANEST models describe a high-density support core with gel-infused foam. Babelio specifies high-elastic foam and memory foam. Beautyrest identifies a plant-based soy foam blend, while Modera describes high-density foam and cooling gel memory foam. These terms help explain construction, but the supplied evidence does not establish independent comfort or durability results.
The Graco Premium Foam mattress is different from the dual-sided models: its listing clearly documents a polyurethane foam core but does not specify separate infant and toddler firmness surfaces. That can still make it a relevant foam crib mattress, but shoppers seeking a flip-side growth design should focus on products that explicitly document one.
Look at the cover and moisture barrier
A removable, washable cover is practical for crib use because spills and diaper leaks are routine considerations. The Graco Premium Foam, Graco Ultra, both ASANEST models, Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit, Babelio, Grbsy, and Modera all document removable or machine-washable cover features. The Moonlight Slumber cover is described as waterproof and wipe-clean, which is a different care method.
Waterproof construction is also described in several ways. Graco specifies a waterproof sleep surface. Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit lists a PVC-free waterproof barrier, while Beautyrest lists a waterproof woven cover. Babelio describes a waterproof lining, and Modera identifies a waterproof exterior protector. Read the care instructions closely: a waterproof cover is not automatically machine washable, and a washable cover may still require separate handling of the inner mattress.
Review certification details carefully
Certification language varies across listings. CertiPUR-US appears for many foam cores, including the Little Dreamer, both Graco models, both ASANEST models, Beautyrest, Grbsy, Babelio, Modera, and several other candidates. GREENGUARD Gold is documented for the Little Dreamer, Graco models, Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit, ASANEST, and Beautyrest. The Graco Premium Foam also identifies OEKO-TEX Standard 100 for its cover and formaldehyde-free validation.
These certifications describe stated testing or material standards; they are not a substitute for checking the current product documentation. Also distinguish a cover certification from a foam-core certification. ASANEST, for example, identifies an OEKO-TEX Standard 100 cover and CertiPUR-US foam, while Graco separately describes its cover and core certifications.
Plan for compressed-mattress setup
Several foam mattresses ship compressed in a box. Graco says to allow up to 48 hours for expansion, ASANEST recommends at least 72 hours for one model, and Grbsy also lists at least 72 hours. Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit says to unbox, unroll, and allow the mattress to expand flat within days. Keep the mattress flat during the stated expansion period and follow the supplied instructions before placing it in the crib.
Final recommendation
Graco Ultra 2-in-1 Premium Mattress ranks first overall in this specification-based comparison under the published weighted criteria.
Moonlight Slumber Little Dreamer is the first overall specification-based choice among these best foam crib mattresses. It combines clearly documented dual-stage support, a waterproof hypoallergenic cover, CertiPUR-US foam, GREENGUARD Gold certification, and standard crib dimensions. The top foam crib mattresses in this comparison differ in details: choose Graco Ultra for a thicker dual-sided design, Graco Premium Foam for extensive cover and certification documentation, Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit for lightweight handling features, or ASANEST for gel-infused layered foam. Beautyrest, Grbsy, Babelio, and Modera provide additional documented variations in foam layers, cover materials, and stage design.
Frequently Asked Questions
Among the best foam crib mattresses, are all foam crib mattresses dual sided?
No. The Little Dreamer, Graco Ultra, Sealy Baby Butterfly Knit, ASANEST models, Beautyrest, Grbsy, Babelio, and Modera explicitly describe two stages or two firmness surfaces. The Graco Premium Foam listing documents a foam core and toddler-bed fit but does not specify separate infant and toddler sides.
What dimensions should I check before choosing a foam crib mattress?
Check the crib’s required length, width, and maximum mattress height. The selected products generally measure close to 52 by 28 inches, but some list widths of 27.5 or 27.6 inches. Heights range from about 4.5 to 6 inches, so compare all three measurements rather than relying only on the standard-size label.
Is a washable cover the same as a waterproof mattress?
No. A washable cover can be removed and laundered, while a waterproof barrier helps prevent liquid from reaching the foam. Some products document both features; others specify only one. Graco Ultra, for example, lists a waterproof machine-washable cover, while Moonlight Slumber describes a waterproof wipe-clean medical-grade cover.
How long should a compressed foam mattress expand?
Follow the product’s specific instructions. The supplied listings mention periods from 24 to 72 hours or more. Graco lists up to 48 hours, while ASANEST and Grbsy list at least 72 hours. Do not infer full expansion time from another brand’s instructions.
What does CertiPUR-US documentation cover?
In these listings, CertiPUR-US is generally identified in connection with the foam core. It should not automatically be read as certification of every component, such as the fabric cover or waterproof barrier. Check whether the listing separately identifies certifications for the foam and cover.